Who’s ready for one aMASing year?!

Birthdays are just different when you get “older”.  Leading up to September 17th I had so many people asking me “what are you doing for your bday?!”  For the first time maybe ever in my life my response was a shoulder shrug and “nothing much”.  Gasps and dropped jaws followed.  True, I normally put together some sort of event to celebrate the day I entered this world, but 31 just seemed so “blah” to celebrate.  Can’t really go out on the town with a crown on at that age, amIright?!

I started thinking back to the Big 3-0 and my mission to do 30 things in 30 days before 30.  It was one of the best 30 days ever!  As a 31 year old I don’t know that I have the energy to do THAT again, but I started thinking how I use the same concept for a year long project.  And so, “one aMASing year” was born!

I have selected 5 different “challenges” to complete over the next year, each benefiting a different part of my life.

Here’s the breakdown:

Read 31 Books

Make 31 New Recipes

Go on 31 First Dates I would also be happy NOT completing this one, if you get my drift

Run (at least) 31 Miles Each Month

Save an extra $31 each month

But here’s the real deal- I need YOUR help to complete these!!!  If I knew 31 boys to date, I’d be doing that.  If I had 31 book suggestions, I’d at least  be pretending to read them or have them on hold at the library.  I need introductions, suggestions, encouragement, and knowledge to finish these tasks by Sept 17, 2015.

If you can help me in any of these categories please leave a message below, tweet at me (masita917), FB me, Instagram me (mas917) or DM me at msoduk@gmail.com.  I’ve love to hear from as many people as possible!

I will periodically update the counts on each task, and write about my experiences.  Thanks advance for your help- I hope you’ll stick around for the whole journey- can’t wait to see where we are one year from now!

xoxo

MAS

2 thoughts on “Who’s ready for one aMASing year?!

  1. Love this idea! I’d like to contribute to the recipes and books categories:
    Books (I don’t know what you like it have read, but here are some of my faves of all different genres):
    Middlesex – Jeffrey Eugenides
    My Notorious Life – Kate Manning
    This is Where I Leave You – jonanthan topper
    Bossypants – Tina Fey
    Ape House – Sara Gruen(?)
    The Fault in our Stars
    Hour Game – David Baldacci
    The Plain Truth – Jodi Piccoult
    Night – Eli Weisel

    Recipe:
    This is my fancy salad.
    2 heads of endive
    1-2 ripe yellow pears
    Gorgonzola (it’s better if you get the non-crumbled kind and do it yourself)
    Fig preserves
    Candied walnuts or almonds (Blue Diamond makes vanilla almonds that work well)
    Balsamic vinegar

    Ok. The only effort part is the dressing…do about 2Tbs of fig preserves and add a little water…stir until its diluted and a little watery. Add balsamic to taste. Set aside. Put like a cup of nuts in a ziplock and crush them (or forget the ziploc and just chop them up with a knife). Dice the pear, skin-on. Cut the hard bottom part off the endive and pull them apart (and get rid of the middle leaves. Arrange the good ones on your salad plates, then add the pear, crumble the Gorgonzola over top, sprinkle with chopped nuts, drizzle with fig balsamic. So fancy!

    Have fun! Sounds a-MAS-ing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

